Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Elder College

Databases

The NIC library also has access to many different individual online databases that are focused on specific subject areas. You can find a list of them, with a brief description of each, on the Library homepage: A-Z List of databases.

undefined

 

These databases have information from a variety of sources.

Most of the databases contain the full text of articles.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Databases of Interest

Find newspaper & journal articles on a wide variety of topics. This is not an exhaustive list – just a sampling of what is available!

Aging

  • Ageline Focuses exclusively on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging.
  • Dementia Care Academy A video series from Teepa Snow, a dementia-care specialist.

Canadiana

Health

  • Alt Healthwatch The latest information about the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies.
  •  Health Source: Consumer Edition Articles on the medical sciences, food sciences, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
  • Medline Plus Information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand.

History, Humanities & More!

  • Encyclopedia of British Columbia Articles on BC places and things & hundreds of historic and colour photographs, diagrams etc.
  • Points to the Past Primary source material including maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, sermons, poems and more.
  •  Humanities Source Articles on art, classical studies, English, dance, film, history, journalism, philosophy, religion and more.

Library Contact & Hours | Privacy