Skip to Main Content
homepage
Contact Us Library Hours

Copyright: NIC Library

Copyright Restrictions for Licensed Databases

Material found in NIC's electronic databases is subject to the terms and restrictions outlined in each database's license agreement, and the permitted uses can vary. Please look up the database that hosts the material you wish to use in our A to Z Database list and click on "permitted uses for this database" to see details of what you can and cannot do with the material. You may refer back to this page for more details.

General Restrictions

You may not, under any circumstance, do any of the following:

  • Use any part of the electronic resource for a commercial purpose.
  • Use software such as webcrawlers or other automated means to systematically make copies of extracts of the electronic resource for any purpose.
  • Mount, post or distribute any part of the electronic resource on unsecured electronic networks, such as electronic bulletin boards, news groups and web sites. For clarification, posting to a learning management system (e.g. Brightspace) may be allowed by the license. Check specific license permissions for further information.
  • Obscure or alter any copyright or other notices appearing in the electronic resource
  • Publish, distribute or make available any portion of the electronic resource except as detailed in the specific license permissions or as permitted by the Fair Dealing provisions of the Canadian Copyright Act.

Persistent Links

YES You may post or share a persistent URL (electronic link) to material in our databases. Using a persistent link directs the user to our ezproxy login, ensuring that only eligible users are able to access the material. Persistent links are the preferred way to share material in our licensed databases.

Upload to Brightspace

YES You may upload a PDF copy of this material to Brightspace
LINK ONLY you may not upload a PDF copy of this material to Brightspace, you must use a Persistent Link so the Database registers a “hit” each time the material is accessed.
JUMPSTART you may not upload a copy of this material to Brightspace, you must use the “Jumpstart” feature to link to the material (See https://tools.ovid.com/ovidtools/jump_starts.html). 
EMBED for video streaming: you cannot download the video and upload it to Brightspace, however you are permitted to embed the video in Brightspace using the tools provided by the database provider, or post a persistent link to the video.

Class Handouts

YES

You are allowed to print a physical copy of this material for each participant in your class as long as it is given to them free of charge.

videos: the accompanying text for this video may be included in a physical handout for each participant in your class as long as it is given to them free of charge.

Coursepacks

NO

You are not allowed to include this material in a Coursepack that will be sold in the bookstore. You might be able to hand it out for free as a class handout, please check the permitted uses for this database.

For Library Staff: Interlibrary Loans

YES

This material may be shared with users at other institutions via Interlibrary Loan. 

for Videos: the accompanying text for this video may be shared with users at other institutions via Interlibrary Loan.

Business Source Ultimate Restrictions

Most material found in Business Source Ultimate may be permalinked, uploaded to Brightspace, and included in free class handouts, with the exception of Harvard Business Review articles.  Harvard Business Review articles are not intended for use in assigned course materials. Thousands of HBR articles can be downloaded, printed and saved for individual use with the exception of the 500 selected articles deemed most popular case studies/articles for primarily academic use, as determined by Harvard Business Publishing. These 500 articles have a read-only status so printing, downloading, and saving these articles for individual use is not available.