The Pumpkin Seed's Secret
by
A picture book full of heart and hominess, The Pumpkin Seed's Secret reveals the life cycle of a pumpkin with clever and cozy rhyme. With each page turn, the pumpkin becomes something new - it's a seed, a flower, a house, a face, and more! Extensive back matter on pumpkin life cycle stages, other fun pumpkin facts, and a recipe are included. A perfect book for home and school libraries! A pumpkin is a seed. A plain little seed with a secret inside, A pocket, a pip with a new life to hide. To hide and to hold As springtime unfolds, A pumpkin begins as a seed. A pumpkin is a sprout. A curious sprout with one leaf and then two, A budding, a nudging, a slow peekaboo. Happy for rain And sunshine again, A pumpkin pops out as a sprout.
The American Sign Language Handshape Dictionary
by
This unique reference can help users locate a sign whose meaning they have forgotten, or help them find the meaning of a new sign they have just seen for the first time. It organizes more than 1,900 ASL signs by 40 basic handshapes and includes detailed descriptions on how to form these signs to represent the different English words that they might mean. Users can begin to track down a sign by determining whether it is formed with one hand or two. Further distinctions of handshape, palm orientation, location, movement, and nonmanual signals help them pinpoint their search while also refining their grasp of ASL syntax and grammar. A complete English word index provides the option of referring to an alphabetical listing of English terms to locate an equivalent sign or choice of signs. This dictionary features: More than 1,900 sign illustrations, organized by handshape Complete index of English vocabulary for all signs An introduction to Deaf culture and ASL structure The American Sign Language Handshape Dictionary is a one-of-a-kind resource for learning ASL and enhancing communication skills in both ASL and English.
Correct Your English Errors, Second Edition
by
The bestselling ESL guide--now with extra review exercises to reinforce lessons learned Do you tend to repeat the same mistakes when you speak or write in English? This fun and engaging guide will help you communicate like a native English speaker on a consistent basis. Correct Your English Errors, Second Edition is a comprehensive guide to correcting the bad habits that can leave your audience confused. This skill-building book clearly explains all the key elements of English grammar and provides hundreds of examples of errors learners often make--all presented in color to make them stand out and easier to avoid. Correct Your English Errors, Second Edition: * Highlights common ESL pitfalls, including mispronunciation, misspelling, verb tense issues, and subject-verb agreement * Helps you avoid the misapplication of your own native grammar rules to English * Includes practical review exercises at the end of each chapter * Includes a new review chapter designed to test your mastery of the book's entire content
How Not to Be a Politician
by
Named a Best Book of the Year by Foreign Affairs, Financial Times, and Kirkus Reviews The #1 Sunday Times bestseller, published in the UK as Politics on the Edge. "One of the best books on politics our era will see . . . A book of astonishing literary quality." --Matthew Parris, The TLS "[Rory Stewart] walked across Asia, served in British Parliament, and ran against Boris Johnson. Now he gives us his view of what's wrong with politics, and how we can make it right." --Adam Grant, "The 12 New Fall Books to Enrich Your Thinking" From a great writer--legendary for his expeditions into some of the world's most forbidding places--a wise, honest, and sometimes absurdist memoir of a most remarkable journey through British politics at the breaking point Rory Stewart was an unlikely politician. He was best known for his two-year walk across Asia--in which he crossed Afghanistan, essentially solo, in the months after 9/11--and for his service, as a diplomat in Iraq, and Afghanistan. But in 2009, he abandoned his chair at Harvard University to stand for a seat in Parliament, representing the communities and farms of the Lake District and the Scottish border--one of the most isolated and beautiful districts in England. He ran as a Conservative, though he had no prior connection to the politics and there was much about the party that he disagreed with. How Not to Be a Politician is a candid and penetrating examination of life on the ground as a politician in an age of shallow populism, when every hard problem has a solution that's simple, appealing, and wrong. While undauntedly optimistic about what a public servant can accomplish in the lives of his constituents, the book is also a pitiless insider's exposé of the game of politics at the highest level, often shocking in its displays of rampant cynicism, ignorance, glibness, and sheer incompetence. Stewart witnesses Britain's vote to leave the European Union and its descent into political civil war, compounded by the bad faith of his party's leaders--David Cameron, Boris Johnson, and Liz Truss. Finally, after nine years of service and six ministerial roles, and shocked by his party's lurch to the populist right, Stewart ran for prime minister. Stewart's campaign took him into the lead in the opinion polls, head-to-head against Boris Johnson. How Not to Be a Politician is his effort to make sense of it all, including what has happened to politics in Britain and the world and how we can fix it. The view into democracy's dark heart is troubling, but at every turn Stewart also finds allies and ways to make a difference. A bracing, invigorating mix of irony and love infuses How Not to Be a Politician. This is one of the most revealing memoirs written by a politician in living memory.
I Am Woman
by
One of the foremost Native writers in North America, Lee Maracle links her First Nations heritage with feminism in this visionary book. "Maracle has created a book of true wisdom, intense pride, sisterhood and love." -Milestones Review
Northerny
by
Fresh, funny, and imbued with infectious energy, Northerny tells a much-needed and compelling story of growing up and living in the North. Here are no tidy tales of aurora borealis and adventures in snow. For Dawn Macdonald, the North is not an escape, a pathway to enlightenment, or a lifestyle choice. It's a messy, beautiful, and painful point of origin. People from the North see the North differently and want to tell their own stories in their own way, including about their experiences growing up on the land, getting an education, and struggling to find jobs and opportunities. Expertly balancing lyric reflection and ferocious realism, Macdonald busts up the cultural myths of self-interest and superiority that have long dominated conversations about both Northern spaces and working-class identities.
Breath, Like Water
by
"Look, I come from a line of angry women. / I am not in love with mountains, or rivers, or poetry. / I am in love with Mountain."In Breath, Like Water: An Anti-Colonial Romance the narrator, a settler-colonial hiker, grapples with her attachment to the Okanagan Mountain alongside her desire to honour the Land Back movement of Indigenous peoples and the harmful history of white colonizers. She is critical of her own role in this system, yet cognizant of the lack of power she possesses to return the land to its rightful owners. Instead she walks--hiking the Okanagan Mountain regularly, learning the rhythms of snow, heat, bears, pine trees, mule deer, and ticks--sharing its joys with lovers. In styles both experimental and familiar, a tangential narrative takes off. Sparked by a mysterious plane crash in 1950, the narrator contemplates a fire-hungry tree-people inhabiting Okanagan Mountain. Blending poetic prose with free verse, Norah Bowman weaves a narrative of magical speculation and natural history to decolonize human-nature relationships and celebrate the spirit of the mountain.
Inari Sámi Folklore
by
A rich multivoiced anthology of folktales, legends, joik songs, proverbs, riddles, and other verbal art, this is the most comprehensive collection of Sámi oral tradition available in English to date. Collected by August V. Koskimies and Toivo I. Itkonen in the 1880s from nearly two dozen storytellers from the arctic Aanaar (Inari) region of northeast Finland, the material reveals a complex web of social relations that existed both inside and far beyond the community. First published in 1918 only in the Aanaar Sámi language and in Finnish, this anthology is now available in a centennial English-language edition for a global readership. Translator Tim Frandy has added biographies of the storytellers, maps and period photos, annotations, and a glossary. In headnotes that contextualize the stories, he explains such underlying themes as Aanaar conflicts with neighboring Sámi and Finnish communities, the collapse of the wild reindeer populations less than a century before, and the pre-Christian past in Aanaar. He introduces us to the bawdy humor of Antti Kitti, the didacticism of Iisakki Mannermaa, and the feminist leanings of Juho Petteri Lusmaniemi, emphasizing that folktales and proverbs are rooted in the experiences of individuals who are links in a living tradition.
Moon of the Crusted Snow
by
With winter looming, a small northern Anishinaabe community goes dark. Cut off, people become passive and confused. Panic builds as the food supply dwindles. While the council and community members struggle to maintain order, an unexpected visitor arrives, escaping the crumbling society to the south. Soon after, others follow. Frustrated by the building chaos, a group of young friends and their families turn to the land and Anishinaabe tradition in hopes of helping their community thrive again. Guided through the chaos by an unlikely leader, they endeavour to restore order while grappling with a grave decision.
Peacocks of Instagram
by
Finalist, 2024 Giller Prize Engrossing, witty yet devastating stories about diasporic Indians that deftly question what it means to be safe, to survive, and to call a place home. An underappreciated coffee shop server haunted by her past attracts thousands of followers on social media with her peacock jewellery. A hotel housekeeper up against a world of gender and class inequity quietly gets revenge on her chauvinist boss. And a foster child, orphaned in an accident directly attributable to climate change, brings down her foster father, an oil lobbyist, in spectacular fashion. With an intense awareness of privilege and the lack of it, the fourteen stunning stories in Peacocks of Instagram explore what it means to be safe, to survive, and to call a place home.
Shahnameh
by
Shahnameh is a lengthy epic poem which vividly intertwines the mythical and historical history of Persia, thereby enchanting and impressing readers for many centuries. Originally composed by Abolqasem Ferdowsi in the 10th century, the Shahnameh enjoys the distinction of being the longest epic poem by a single author in existence. The verses took Ferdowsi over three decades to complete. Although it draws heavily from established mythology and the historical archives of Persia, Ferdowsi also imbues the poem's story with his own vivid inventions and plot devices. The entire poem is intended as a history of Persia from the earliest times until the Islamic Conquest of the country, which occurred about 350 years before Ferdowsi composed his epic. The verses proceed chronologically, beginning with the creation of the Earth, through the establishment of Zoroastrianism as the first monotheistic faith in the region, with the principle characters being various great generals and rulers. Ferdowsi divides his masterpiece into three parts: The Mythical Age; which accounts for God creating Earth and the earliest emergence of man in the Middle East, and the establishment of early traditions such as feasting. The Heroic Age; wherein the Persian Empire's conquests, triumphs and battles are detailed, alongside the lives and exploits of its greatest heroes. Finally, the Historical Age; which relates the Sassanid Empire's history of with much attention to accepted facts and overall accuracy. This edition of the Shahnameh contains the verses in English, plus explanatory narrations of the general plot and a series of informative notes which explain certain passages. The authoritative and well-informed translation to English by James Atkinson sensitively ensures that the subjects and the message of each part is clearly communicated. In modern-day Iran, the Shahnameh is regarded as a great work of literature for its encompassing plot. The heroism, valiance and achievements of the Persian civilization are retrospectively grouped together in a splendid chronicle of the nation's finest times. Taken as a whole, the great poem offers people living in Persia and modern-day Iran ample reason for national pride.
Art Forms in Nature : the prints of Ernst Haeckel.
by
The geometric shapes and natural forms, captured with exceptional precision in Ernst Haeckel's prints, still influence artists and designers to this day. This volume highlights the research and findings of this natural scientist. Powerful modern microscopes have confirmed the accuracy of Haeckel's prints, which even in their day, became world famous. Haeckel's portfolio, first published between 1899 and 1904 in separate installments, is described in the opening essays. The plates illustrate Haeckel's fundamental monistic notion of the "unity of all living things" and the wide variety of forms are executed with utmost delicacy. Incipient microscopic organisms are juxtaposed with highly developed plants and animals. The pages, ordered according to geometric and "constructive" aspects, document the oness of the world in its most diversified forms. This collection of plates was not only well-received by scientists, but by artists and architects as well. Rene Binet, a pioneer of glass and iron constructions, Emile Galle, a renowned Art Nouveau designer, and the photographer Karl Blossfeld all make explicit reference to Haeckel in their work.
The artist's handbook : a step-by-step guide to drawing, watercolour & oil painting
by
Subject: "Using step-by-step photographs, this project-based course on drawing and painting for the beginner is divided into three sections - drawing, watercolour and oil painting." -- Provided by the publisher.
Botanical Flowers in Watercolour
by
Michael Lakin demonstrates how to paint a variety of flowers in a clean, realistic style. Tracings are supplied, which means readers have the difficult drawing stage done for them.
Image Transfer Workshop
by
No Fear Transfers If you have never tried image transfers or have experienced image transfer mishaps, then Image Transfer Workshop is for you. This book presents step-by-step techniques for 35 image transfer processes, extensive tips for fixing mishaps and examples of how to combine transfers in finished pieces of mixed-media art. This comprehensive guide features: 35 Techniques: This book focuses exclusively on making transfers--from simple tape and gel medium transfers to more complex and out of the box techniques, like solar silk screens and plastic wrap transfers. Troubleshooting: Image Transfer Workshop includes extensive answers to help fix problems in transfers gone wrong. You'll learn what to watch for, what to do to get great transfers every time. Dual Styles, Dual Approaches: The authors' different styles illustrate how transfer techniques can take on completely different looks. Finished pieces of art for each technique and a section of completely stepped-out projects are sure to inspire you! Let Image Transfer Workshop help build your image transfer confidence.
Jean Haines' Atmospheric Watercolours
by
Accomplished artist Jean Haines shares her passion for watercolours in this wonderfully practical book. Known for her exciting techniques and love of colour, Jean takes you on an inspirational painting journey on which youll encounter, amongst other things, magical watercolour flow, glorious washes, sunbursts, and a magnificent hotting it up finale. With her simple exercises, clear advice and easy-to-follow projects, Jean pushes the boundaries and will alter the way you think about watercolours and painting for ever. With a selection of popular subjects, including animals, landscapes, buildings,flowers and people, there is something for everyone here, whatever their artistic ability.
Painting Little Landscapes
by
Internationally acclaimed watercolorist and art instructor Zoltan Szabo demonstrates how to create charming little watercolor landscapes in this instructive volume. Taking readers step-by-step through his finished works, Szabo shows how to take advantage of the benefits offered by a small format (not exceeding 10" x 11"), which include spontaneity resulting from rapid drying and the textural effects granular pigments yield on a small surface. Szabo walks the reader through the creation of each painting, beginning with a reference photo and a pencil sketch and moves on to palette choices, pigment interactions, and brush techniques. Painting Little Landscapes includes assignments, in addition to 180 full-color plates, to help watercolorists create their own miniature landscapes. Each of the seven chapters covers one aspect of nature in its various forms: water, mountains, trees, snow, rocks, skies and clouds, along with flowers and close-ups. Szabo invites artists to see nature in its finest detail and ingratiate themselves in the pleasure of small-scale painting. Learn from the best in this beautifully illustrated comprehensive guide to the magic of watercolor. Zoltan Szabo was born in Hungary in 1928 and studied at the National Academy of Industrial Art in Budapest. He emigrated to Canada in 1949, and made a name for himself as one of Canada's foremost landscape painters. In addition to teaching workshops and seminars on watercolor painting, Szabo has exhibited his work in London, Canada, and the United States. Zoltan Szabo's paintings are found in public and private collections worldwide, including those of the prime ministers of Canada and Jamaica and in the National Gallery of Hungary. Other books by Zoltan Szabo include Landscape Painting in Watercolor, Painting Nature's Hidden Treasures, and Zoltan Szabo Paints Landscapes. Readers interested in related titles from Zoltan Szabo will also want to see: Creative Watercolor Techniques (ISBN: 9781626541368), Landscape Painting in Watercolor (ISBN: 9781626549012), Painting Nature's Hidden Treasures (ISBN: 9781626549180), Zoltan Szabo Paints Landscapes: Advanced Techniques in Watercolor (ISBN: 9781626549005).
Paul Klee
by
This accessible look at Kleeís life and art displays the many facets that make his career so intriguing. Filled with personal photographs, quotations from the artist, and beautiful reproductions of his colorful paintings, watercolors, and prints, this volume introduces readers to the various themes that occupied Klee throughout his life. The book explores topics such as Munich between two world wars; the artists whom Klee befriended in the Blue Rider Group and at the Bauhaus; the music that continued to inspire him; and the illness that marked his final years. A fascinating introduction for anyone interested in learning about this renowned artist, here is a book that is as readable as it is informative. AUTHOR: Hajo Duchting is an art historian and author of numerous books. ILLUSTRATIONS 120 illustrations
Pouring Light
by
Turn on the flow to make your paintings glow! The reward for pouring watercolor is unmistakable: radiant, brilliant, breathtaking color. Try this fun and spontaneous technique and you'll achieve remarkable results that can't be created in any other way! In Pouring Light: Layering Transparent Watercolor, artist and instructor Jean Grastorf shows you how to balance the free flow of watercolor on wet paper while maintaining control to ensure dazzling results. Try Jean's simple methods for fearless, flawless pouring, and soon you'll be creating fresh, sparkling watercolors unlike any you've ever painted! In this essential painter's guide to pouring watercolor, you'll learn how to: Achieve exquisite, translucent color with just a few paints Plan for success with a good composition Preserve vital light areas Complete every step of the painting process, through easy-to-follow mini-demos and full-length demonstrations Have fun by putting down your brushes and letting the paint do the work for you!
Watercolor - Making Your Mark
by
This book presents 55 demonstrations from traditional to non-traditional and will appeal to beginners as well as advanced artists.
Watermedia Painting with Stephen Quiller
by
Inspiring ideas from one of the world's great art teachers . Top author-more than 100,000 books sold worldwide . Solid instruction from a watermedia expert . Tips and techniques for developing a personal style and vision Join renowned artist Stephen Quiller, the creator of the famous Quiller Wheel, the Quiller Palette, and the Quiller lines of paints, on a journey of art discovery and exploration. Watermedia Painting with Stephen Quiller is an in-depth look at all the watermedia paints available to today's artists. Part One looks at watercolors, with illustrations of the visual characteristics of the mineral (sedimentary) and transparent (staining) and their effects with different paper surfaces. Part Two focuses on acrylics, gouache, and casein. In Part Three, Quiller shares his secrets for the most difficult aspect of painting-developing a personal style and vision. Packed with Quiller's thoughts and ideas on painting philosophy, the meditative and spiritual aspects of art, photographing art, travel, and building a studio, this is an inspiring guide to living a creative life and creating art.
20 minute guide to the Sikh faith
by
Subject: "This guidebook provides readers with a brief glimpse into Sikh values, beliefs, practices, and traditions. Whether you are hoping to learn more about Sikh heritage or merely curious about your next-door neighbour, this book helps you on your quest for knowledge."-- Back cover.
BReD
by
Sourdough bread is naturally vegan - flour, water, and salt transformed into extraordinary, delicious bread. Ed Tatton, vegan chef, artisan bread-maker, and co-owner of the popular vegan cafe and bakery BReD with Natasha Tatton, has been baking and refining his recipes and techniques for naturally leavened sourdough for many years - including a wide array of boules, baguettes, loaves, flatbreads, buns, and pizza. As required, he uses plant-based alternatives in some savoury and sweet sourdoughs that would traditionally include dairy (butter, milk, or buttermilk) including panettone buns, hot cross buns, sticky buns, cinnamon buns, English muffins, brioche, and babka. Inside BReD, you'll find these perfected recipes to start your journey in bread-making; along with a detailed sourdough starter guide with step-by-step visuals on making and maintaining a sourdough starter, levain, mixing, shaping, and baking methods. BReD is a complete plant-based book for bakers that goes beyond just making bread. Experienced bakers and novices alike can take their baking to the next level with gorgeous vegan baked goods from cakes, muffins, and scones to biscuits, cookies, and tarts. Passionate about a vegan lifestyle for the benefit of all people and the planet, the book also includes gluten-free recipes (bread and other baked goods), discard starter recipes to further zero-waste efforts, and an offering of dips, spreads, and accompaniments to complement the breads.
Borders
by
Summary: "A graphic-novel adaptation based on the work of one of Canada's most revered and bestselling authors. "What side do you come from?" On a trip to visit his older sister, who moved away from the family home to Salt Lake City, a young boy and his mother are posed a simple question with a not so simple answer. And when border guards will not accept their citizenship, mother and son wind up trapped in an all-too-real limbo between nations that do not recognize who they are. A powerful graphic novel adaptation of the Thomas King short story, Borders explores themes of identity, belonging, and is a poignant depiction of the significance of a nationś physical borders from an Indigenous perspective. One of Thomas King's most celebrated pieces of short fiction is brought to vibrant, piercing life by the singular vision of artist Natasha Donovan."-- Provided by publisher.
Aboriginal sexual offending in Canada
by
Summary: "Sexual assault is a serious problem in Canada, but not everyone is at equal risk of being victimized. Most perpetrators are men, while most victims are women or children. Moreover, contrary to popular belief, most sex offenders are family members, acquaintances or friends of those they victimize. Risk of victimization also varies from community to community, among different segments of the same community, and within the same community over time. Remarkably, in 1999, there was a sixteen-fold difference in reported rates of sexual assault among provincial and territorial jurisdictions in Canada. Like crime rates generally, reported sexual offences peaked in the early 1990s and have been declining since that time. Despite this downward trend, as many as 600,000 offences still occur in Canada each year. Although sexual offences make up only about 1 per cent of official crime statistics, 90 per cent or more of sexual crimes are never reported to the police. The under-reporting rate for sexual offences is higher than for any other crime category. Sexual offences cause serious, often lifelong, trauma to victims, families and communities; notwithstanding the fact that most offences do not involve any physical injury. Over the past two decades, the justice system has been dealing more harshly with sex offenders. During this period, there has been a 400 per cent increase in the number of sex offenders in jail. Despite increased enforcement, prosecution and imprisonment, it is estimated that only one in one hundred sex offenders is apprehended and sent to jail, and the proportion could be much smaller. Even those who are convicted of the most serious sexual crimes return to the community after an average sentence of about four years. Thus, the justice system impact on the problem of sexual abuse is, and likely will remain, quite limited. Aboriginal people are overrepresented in Canada’s correctional systems. The many reasons for this have been well-documented in numerous commissions and public inquiries that have examined Aboriginal justice issues over the past thirty years. Despite decreases in crime and incarceration rates generally, Aboriginal people continue to be incarcerated in disproportionate numbers, and they make up an ever-increasing proportion of all those behind bars in Canada. Between 20 and 25 per cent of convicted sex offenders in Canada are Aboriginal. As with non-Aboriginal offenders, those who have been convicted are the tip of a proverbial iceberg. While precise numbers are not available, there may be as many as 150,000 Aboriginal sex offenders in Canada. A small number of these offenders are responsible for committing many offences, sometimes over long periods. Past attempts to reform the justice system to better address the needs and concerns of Aboriginal offenders, victims and communities have largely been unsuccessful. In particular, it is not at all clear that traditional penal sanctions have had any deterrent or rehabilitative effects on the majority of Aboriginal offenders, and the justice system has also often failed to address either the needs of Aboriginal victims or the aspirations of Aboriginal communities. The most promising initiatives to improve access to effective, culturally appropriate services are those undertaken by Aboriginal communities themselves. These initiatives recognize and respect the Aboriginal right of self-determination, and provide opportunities and resources for Aboriginal communities to design and implement their own solutions. Canada is a world leader in the relatively new field of sex offender treatment. Yet, there are few programs, and little information is available about their effectiveness. Although Aboriginal sex offenders are known to be much more disadvantaged than other offenders, and while the numbers being processed through the justice system have grown, there are surprisingly few specialized treatment resources of any kind available in Canada. The number of program that incorporate any sort of culturally appropriate programming are rarer still. As a result, most Aboriginal sex offenders return to their communities without receiving any treatment, much less any culturally appropriate treatment. While the scarcity of Aboriginal-specific treatment programs is a serious concern, it is also clear that the most meaningful strategies for addressing Aboriginal sexual offending lie beyond the justice system. In fact, even intensified efforts to incapacitate, deter or rehabilitate Aboriginal sex offenders will likely have little appreciable impact on victimization rates. Rather, there is a need to invest in community-based solutions, including early intervention programs, crime prevention programs, and restorative justice programs. Meaningful, long-term strategies to address Aboriginal sexual offending will require the coordinated efforts of many partners. Communities must become more informed, but they must also be provided with the resources that will allow them to take ownership of the problem. Investments in strengthening the family and community are also key. In addition, there must be a heightened commitment to develop adequate and appropriate programs for offenders and victims. There is an urgent need for research to more fully determine the extent of offending and victimization, and program development to provide effective solutions. And there is a critical need to develop Aboriginal human resources to deal with these and related needs in Aboriginal communities throughout Canada. In many Aboriginal communities, it is only in the last 5 to 7 years that there has been any open discussion about the problem of sexual abuse. The main challenges still often involve moving beyond myths and denial; yet the problems are serious. If Aboriginal communities and nations are to achieve their vision for the future, these problems must be addresseed." -- Executive summary.
The Beginning and End of Rape
by
Winner of the Labriola Center American Indian National Book Award Despite what major media sources say, violence against Native women is not an epidemic. An epidemic is biological and blameless. Violence against Native women is historical and political, bounded by oppression and colonial violence. This book, like all of Sarah Deer's work, is aimed at engaging the problem head-on--and ending it. The Beginning and End of Rape collects and expands the powerful writings in which Deer, who played a crucial role in the reauthorization of the Violence Against Women Act in 2013, has advocated for cultural and legal reforms to protect Native women from endemic sexual violence and abuse. Deer provides a clear historical overview of rape and sex trafficking in North America, paying particular attention to the gendered legacy of colonialism in tribal nations--a truth largely overlooked or minimized by Native and non-Native observers. She faces this legacy directly, articulating strategies for Native communities and tribal nations seeking redress. In a damning critique of federal law that has accommodated rape by destroying tribal legal systems, she describes how tribal self-determination efforts of the twenty-first century can be leveraged to eradicate violence against women. Her work bridges the gap between Indian law and feminist thinking by explaining how intersectional approaches are vital to addressing the rape of Native women. Grounded in historical, cultural, and legal realities, both Native and non-Native, these essays point to the possibility of actual and positive change in a world where Native women are systematically undervalued, left unprotected, and hurt. Deer draws on her extensive experiences in advocacy and activism to present specific, practical recommendations and plans of action for making the world safer for all.
Blazing the trail: Celebrating Indigenous Fire Stewardship
by
Subject: "Blazing the Trail: Celebrating Indigenous Fire Stewardship, is a beautiful, bound publication that recognizes the contributions to wildfire prevention of Indigenous communities in Canada. The glossy, 47-page book is the culmination of a FireSmart Canada partnership with Natural Resources Canada and Alberta Agriculture and Forestry. Blazing the Trail is both a resource and a treasure; its detailed, first-person stories provide insight and context about Indigenous Peoples and fire stewardship, and the narrative encourages celebration and sharing of wise practices and lessons learned across generations. The publication acknowledges that Indigenous communities have been leading, in many ways, fire mitigation and prevention. An important outcome of Indigenous fire stewardship is wildland fire risk reduction, which aligns with FireSmart Canada's organizational mandate, Blazing the Trail: Celebrating Indigenous Fire Stewardship is designed for leaders at all levels in Indigenous communities, from local youth to elders, fire keepers, fire knowledge-holders, Indigenous elected officials, fire chiefs, and senior community managers/administrators. In the spirit of allyship, non-Indigenous agencies that work alongside Indigenous communities across Canada will also benefit from Blazing the Trail: Celebrating Indigenous Fire Stewardship." -- Provided by the publisher.
Building a Better World, 4th Edition
by
This fourth edition of Building a Better World offers a comprehensive introductory overview of Canada's labour movement. The book explores why workers form unions; assesses their organization and democratic potential; examines issues related to collective bargaining, grievances and strike activity; charts the historical development of labour unions; and describes the gains unions have achieved for their members and all working people. This new and expanded edition also analyzes the challenges facing today's labour movement as a result of COVID-19 and the strategies being developed to overcome them.
Fetal alcohol syndrome among aboriginal people in Canada : review and analysis of the intergenerational links to residential schools
by
Summary: This report reviews and analyzes research literature on FAS and alcohol-related birth effects among Aboriginal people in Canada. Specific attention is paid to intergenerational variables that are linked to, or are a result of, the residential school experience.
Held by the Land
by
The beautifully illustrated Held by the Land guides you through the traditional uses and properties of a selection of indigenous plants.
Luschiim's Plants
by
Respected Cowichan Tribe Elder and botanical expert, Luschiim Arvid Charlie, began his education in early childhood, learning from his great grandparents and others of their generation. Luschiim's Plants represents his dedication to the survival of the Hul′q′umi′num′ language and traditional knowledge of plants for future generations. From the healing properties of qaanlhp (arbutus) to the many practical applications of q'am (bull kelp), the information presented in this remarkable guide shares knowledge of plants that Luschiim is familiar with through his own Elders' teachings and by way of direct experience over the course of his lifetime, and compiled from field outings and interviews with notable ethnobiologist and botanist Nancy J. Turner. In this unprecedented collection of botanical information, over 140 plants are categorized within their broad botanical groupings: algae and seaweeds, lichens, fungi and mushrooms, mosses and liverworts, ferns and fern-allies, coniferous trees, deciduous trees, shrubs and vines, and herbaceous flowering plants. Each entry is illustrated with a colour photo and includes the plant's common, scientific and Hul′q′umi′num′ names; a short description; where to find it; and cultural knowledge related to the plant. Additional notes encompass plant use, safety and conservation; the linguistic writing system used for Hul′q′umi′num′ plant names; as well as miscellaneous notes from interviews with Luschiim. This volume is an important addition to the bookshelves of botanists, and will fascinate anyone with an interest in plants of the West Coast and their traditional uses by Coast Salish peoples.
Modern Native Feasts
by
Contemporary, imaginative interpretations of First Nations cuisine, including lighter, healthier, and more nutritious versions of traditional recipes. Native American cuisine comes of age in this elegant, contemporary collection that reinterprets and updates traditional Native recipes with modern, healthy twists. Andrew George Jr. was head chef for Aboriginal foods at the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver; his imaginative menus reflect the diverse new culinary landscape while being mindful of an ages-old reverence for the land and sea, reflecting the growing interest in a cuisine that is rapidly moving into the mainstream to become the "next big thing" among food trends. Andrew also works actively at making Native foods healthier and more nutritious; his recipes are lighter, less caloric, and include Asian touches, such as bison ribs with Thai spices, and a sushi roll with various cooked fish wrapped in nori. Other dishes include venison barley soup, wild berry crumble, sea asparagus salad, and buffalo tourtiere. Full of healthy, delicious, and thoroughly North American fare, Modern Native Feasts is the first Aboriginal foods cookbook to go beyond the traditional and take a step into the twenty-first century.
Métis history and experience and residential schools in Canada
by
Summary: "The following three reports on the Métis and residential schools point to the various circumstances that make up what is considered the general experience of the Métis and residential schools. More importantly, the three reports give a great deal of insight into why Métis voices may have been silent in the past and why they are starting to be heard today" -- Métis History and Experience and Residential Schools in Canada, pg. 2.
Reconciliation and Indigenous Justice
by
The horrors of the Indian residential schools are by now well-known historical facts, and they have certainly found purchase in the Canadian consciousness in recent years. The history of violence and the struggles of survivors for redress resulted in the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, which chronicled the harms inflicted by the residential schools and explored ways to address the resulting social fallouts. One of those fallouts is the crisis of Indigenous over-incarceration. While the residential school system may not be the only harmful process of colonization that fuels Indigenous over-incarceration, it is arguably the most critical factor. It is likely that the residential school system forms an important part of the background of almost every Indigenous person who ends up incarcerated, even those who did not attend the schools. The legacy of harm caused by the schools is a vivid and crucial link between Canadian colonialism and Indigenous over-incarceration. Reconciliation and Indigenous Justice provides an account of the ongoing ties between the enduring trauma caused by the residential schools and Indigenous over-incarceration.
Sand Talk
by
A paradigm-shifting book in the vein of Sapiens that brings a crucial Indigenous perspective to historical and cultural issues of history, education, money, power, and sustainability--and offers a new template for living. As an indigenous person, Tyson Yunkaporta looks at global systems from a unique perspective, one tied to the natural and spiritual world. In considering how contemporary life diverges from the pattern of creation, he raises important questions. How does this affect us? How can we do things differently? In this thoughtful, culturally rich, mind-expanding book, he provides answers. Yunkaporta's writing process begins with images. Honoring indigenous traditions, he makes carvings of what he wants to say, channeling his thoughts through symbols and diagrams rather than words. He yarns with people, looking for ways to connect images and stories with place and relationship to create a coherent world view, and he uses sand talk, the Aboriginal custom of drawing images on the ground to convey knowledge. In Sand Talk, he provides a new model for our everyday lives. Rich in ideas and inspiration, it explains how lines and symbols and shapes can help us make sense of the world. It's about how we learn and how we remember. It's about talking to everyone and listening carefully. It's about finding different ways to look at things. Most of all it's about a very special way of thinking, of learning to see from a native perspective, one that is spiritually and physically tied to the earth around us, and how it can save our world. Sand Talk include 22 black-and-white illustrations that add depth to the text.
Stoneface
by
Stephen Kakfwi was born in a bush camp on the edge of the Arctic Circle in 1950. In a family torn apart by tuberculosis, alcohol and the traumas endured by generations in residential school, he emerged as a respected Dene elder and eventually the Premier of the Northwest Territories. Stephen belongs to a cohort of young northerners who survived the childhood abuses of residential school only to find themselves as teenagers in another residential school where one Oblate father saw them as the next generation of leaders, and gave them the skills they would need to succeed. Kakfwi, schooled on civil rights and 1960s protest songs, dedicated himself to supporting chiefs in their claim to land that had been taken away from them and in their determination to seize control of the colonial political system. Kakfwi's life has been a series of diverse endeavours, blending traditional Dene practices with the daily demands of political office--hunting moose one day and negotiating with European diamond merchants the next. Throughout his career, Kakfwi understood that he held the power to make change--sometimes he succeeded, sometimes he did not. But he also embraced the power of story-telling, and has helped change the story of the North. Kakfwi combines his remarkable memory for detail with his compelling raconteur's skill in taking us through the incredible story of his life and one of the most transformative times in Canadian history. In his candid description of the loneliness of leadership and his embrace of Dene spirituality, Kakfwi's Stoneface transforms politics into philosophy and an intensely personal guide to reconciliation.
London - World City, 1800-1840
by
This book provides a portrait of the city of London in a period when Britain enjoyed cultural, artistic, technological and material pre-eminence. It was a time when the foundations were laid for much later wealth and power.
One Sunny Day
by
The Art and Science of Connection
by
A groundbreaking redefinition of what it means to be healthy that introduces the need for social health--the part of wellbeing that comes from feeling connected--to truly flourish. Exercise. Eat a balanced diet. Go to therapy. Most wellness advice is focused on achieving and maintaining good physical and mental health. But Harvard-trained social scientist and pioneering social health expert Kasley Killam reveals that this approach is missing a vital component: human connection. Relationships not only make us happier, but also are critical to our overall health and longevity. Research shows that people with a strong sense of belonging are 2.6 times more likely to report good or excellent health. Perhaps even more astonishingly, people who lack social support are up to 53% more likely to die from any cause. Yet social health has been overlooked and underappreciated--until now. Just as we exercise our physical muscles, we can strengthen our social muscles. Weaving together cutting-edge science, mindset shifts, and practical wisdom, Killam offers the first methodology for how to be socially healthy. An antidote to the loneliness epidemic and an inspiring manifesto for seeing wellbeing as not only physical and mental, but also social, The Art and Science of Connection is a handbook for thriving. In this essential book, you will: Learn a simple yet powerful framework to understand, evaluate, and bolster your social health. Discover the exact strategy or habit you need, as well as research-backed tips, to cultivate and sustain meaningful connection now and throughout your life. Glean actionable insights to develop a sense of community in your neighborhood, at work, and online from a spirited group of neighbors in Paris, the CEO of a major healthcare company, and an artificially intelligent chatbot. Get an insider look at the innovative ways that doctors, teachers, entrepreneurs, architects, government leaders, and everyday people are catalyzing a movement toward a more socially healthy society. The Art and Science of Connection will transform the way you think about each interaction with a friend, family member, coworker, or neighbor, and give you the tools you need to live a more connected and healthy life--whether you are an introvert or extrovert, if you feel stretched thin, and no matter your age or background. Along the way, Killam will reveal how a university student, a newlywed, a working professional, and a retired widow overcame challenges to thrive through connection--and how you can, too.
BoyMom
by
Blending cultural criticism, memoir, and reporting from the frontlines of contemporary American boyhood, this is a humorous and heartbreaking deep dive into the complexities of raising boys in our fraught political moment. Evidence of male entitlement and aggression is everywhere-from school shooters to incels, campus rapists to the online 'manosphere.' In the absolutist climate of the culture wars, feminist writer and mother of three boys Ruth Whippman can sometimes find herself conflicted and defensive, as though stranded on one side of a symbolic divide with her own children on the other. But as she comes to realize, gender politics aren't simple. Male privilege and male vulnerability co-exist in a complex relationship; and raising boys who can challenge the confines of masculine expectations is more important now than ever. With young men in the grip of a loneliness epidemic and dying by suicide at a rate of nearly four times their female peers, Whippman asks- What are the many cultural messages we send to boys that leave them anxious, emotionally repressed, and socially isolated? How do we raise our sons to have a healthy sense of self without turning them into entitled assholes? How can we find a feminism that holds boys to a higher standard but still treats them with empathy? And what do we do when our boys won't cooperate with our plans? BoyMom moves beyond simplistic, polarized thinking to uncover the myriad complex and invisible ways that systems of masculinity both harm boys and teach them to harm others. Determined to widen the possibilities for her own sons and subvert the social forces already affecting them, Whippman talks to boys of all types, as well as parents, educators, and other experts, and uncovers surprising and controversial truths about boy socialization. With humor and deep vulnerability, Whippman takes a stark look at her own parenting choices as well as wider narratives about mental health, school, sex, cancel culture, screens, popular culture, friendship, neurodiversity, and loneliness to make sense of how masculinity is constructed and experienced in our culture. In doing so, she charts a new path to help us give boys a healthier, more expansive, and fulfilling story about their lives.
Culture Work
by
How do culture workers construct public arts and culture projects that are effective and transformative? How do we create public humanities projects of the community, for the community, and with the community? How can culture work make a concrete difference in the quality of life for communities, and lead to the creation of a more just world? Why do the public humanities matter? Culture Work explores these questions through real-world examples of cultural and public humanities projects. The innovative case studies analyzed in the book demonstrate the vast numbers of creative possibilities in culture work today--in all their complexities, challenges, and potentialities. Thematically arranged chapters embody the interconnected aspects of culture work, from amplifying local voices to galvanizing community from within, from preservation of cultural knowledge to its creative repurposing for a desired future. These inventive projects provide concrete examples and accessible theory grounded in practice, encourage readers to embark on their own public culture work, and create new forward-looking inspiration for community leaders and scholars in the field.
How the World Ran Out of Everything
by
By the New York Times's Global Economics Correspondent, an extraordinary journey to understand the worldwide supply chain--exposing both the fascinating pathways of manufacturing and transportation that bring products to your doorstep, and the ruthless business logic that has left local communities at the mercy of a complex and fragile network for their basic necessities. "A tale that will change how you look at the world." --Mark Leibovich Named a Best Book of the Year by Foreign Policy and The Aspen Institute * Longlisted for the Porchlight Business Book Award How does the wealthiest country on earth run out of protective gear in the middle of a public health catastrophe How do its parents find themselves unable to locate crucially needed infant formula How do its largest companies spend billions of dollars making cars that no one can drive for a lack of chips The last few years have radically highlighted the intricacy and fragility of the global supply chain. Enormous ships were stuck at sea, warehouses overflowed, and delivery trucks stalled. The result was a scarcity of everything from breakfast cereal to medical devices, from frivolous goods to lifesaving necessities. And while the scale of the pandemic shock was unprecedented, it underscored the troubling reality that the system was fundamentally at risk of descending into chaos all along. And it still is. Sabotaged by financial interests, loss of transparency in markets, and worsening working conditions for the people tasked with keeping the gears turning, our global supply chain has become perpetually on the brink of collapse. In How the World Ran Out of Everything, award-winning journalist Peter S. Goodman reveals the fascinating innerworkings of our supply chain and the factors that have led to its constant, dangerous vulnerability. His reporting takes readers deep into the elaborate system, showcasing the triumphs and struggles of the human players who operate it--from factories in Asia and an almond grower in Northern California, to a group of striking railroad workers in Texas, to a truck driver who Goodman accompanies across hundreds of miles of the Great Plains. Through their stories, Goodman weaves a powerful argument for reforming a supply chain to become truly reliable and resilient, demanding a radical redrawing of the bargain between labor and shareholders, and deeper attention paid to how we get the things we need. From one of the most respected economic journalists working today, How the World Ran Out of Everything is a fiercely smart, deeply informative look at how our supply chain operates, and why its reform is crucial--not only to avoid dysfunction in our day to day lives, but to protect the fate of our global fortunes.
To Be a Problem
by
A searing critique of the disability rights movement from within, and a call for collective liberation that is pro-Black and centers disabled people of color For over twenty years, Dara Baldwin has often been the only person of color in the room when significant disability policy decisions are made. Disenfranchisement of people of color and multi-marginalized communities within the disability rights community is not new and has left many inside the community feeling frustrated and erased. In To Be a Problem, Baldwin candidly shares her journey to becoming a disability activist and policymaker in DC while critiquing the disability rights community. She reveals the reality of erasure for many Black people and people of color in the disability movement and argues that, in turn, many white disabled people center themselves within the work without addressing their own white privilege. Disability rights groups have been centering white, straight, cisgender people while racial justice groups often fail to center disabled people, leading many Black and Brown disabled people to start their own Disability Justice organizations. Drawing from her unique vantage point, Baldwin calls readers to understand the shortcomings of the disability rights movement while inspiring us to push all movements towards a more inclusive and authentic liberation.
Why Are People into That?
by
From a #1 Apple podcast host, Lambda Literary fellow, and dominatrix comes a sex-positive, judgment-free cultural deep-dive into the world of kink. When celebrated BDSM educator Tina Horn first launched Why Are People Into That?!, publications from Vice to Buzzfeed heralded it as one of the best sex podcasts around. Each episode centered around a different fetish or fantasy, thoughtfully examining why, exactly, different strokes work for different folks. From sex workers and scientists to artists and activists, Tina's wide range of guests helped educate fascinated listeners across the world on the wide spectrum of humanity's appetites. With her listeners growing more and more insatiable, she soon realized that the only way to address the titular question with all the depth and nuance it deserved was to turn that idea into a book. From spanking, strap-ons, and sluts, to taboos involving cake, chains, and cannibalism, WHY ARE PEOPLE INTO THAT? explores the universal drives that shape even the most specific erotic tastes, and the cultural context that molds and is molded by the way we conceptualize pleasure, gender, fantasy, and power. With buoyant prose, Tina invites us to reconsider everything we thought we knew about sexuality. How, for example, should we think about "consensual nonconsent" in a post-#MeToo era? How does cross-dressing fit in with our evolving cultural understanding of gender performance and identity? And what do foot fetishists, fisters, and FinDoms have in common? Blending insightful cultural criticism, investigative journalism, and spicy anecdotes from Tina's 15+ years of hard-earned expertise in the sex industry and beyond, WHY ARE PEOPLE INTO THAT? is a philosophical-but-fun exploration of the prismatic spectrum of human desire and the expansive possibilities of pleasure. For fans of adrienne maree brown and Emily Nagoski, this raunchy and rousing book is perfect for anyone who is interested not only in the intricacies of what we desire, but in how desire itself really works.
The 36-Hour Day
by
With over 3.5 million copies sold, the bestselling guide to understanding and caring for people with dementia is now completely revised and updated! For 40 years, The 36-Hour Day has been the leading work in the field for caregivers of those with dementia. Written by experts with decades of experience caring for individuals with memory loss, Alzheimer's, and other dementias, the book is widely known for its authoritativeness and compassionate approach to care. Featuring everything from the causes of dementia to managing its early stages to advice on caring for those in the later stages of the disease, it is widely considered to be the most detailed and trusted book available. Highlighting useful takeaway messages and informed by recent research into the causes of dementia, this new edition has been completely updated. It features * brand-new content on everything from home care aides to useful apps to promising preventative techniques and therapies * practical advice for avoiding caregiver burnout--plus tips for when and how to get additional help * a completely new two-column design that allows readers to quickly access what they need The central idea underlying this indispensable book--that much can be done to improve the lives of people with dementia and of those caring for them--remains the same. The 36-Hour Day is the definitive dementia care guide.
Accidental Astronomy
by
A "riveting real-life Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy" (The Telegraph), told "with an engaging voice, a diverting sense of humor, and a humble awe for the wonders of the universe" (Wall Street Journal), shows why so much of astronomy comes down to looking up and lucking out If you learn about the scientific method, you learn that first we hypothesize about something we've experienced, and then we look for more of it. This works well enough--but what if you are interested in studying a heretofore unknown comet or supernova? That is the essential problem of the astronomer: the most important discoveries happen without notice!    Indeed, as Chris Lintott argues in Accidental Astronomy, luck defines astronomy. Lintott explores the ways in which happenstance shapes how we investigate the sky. To catch a glimpse of a comet, asteroid, or even a sign of alien life, we must be in the right place at the right time. And if we can't be there, we must have a team of professionals and amateurs, across the globe, ready to spring into action at a moment's--or a night's--notice. For any astronomer, regardless of their experience or resources, the first step to discovery is the same: to stare at the sky and wait.    A celebration of astronomy, stargazing, and cosmic discovery, Accidental Astronomy offers an irresistible window into how luck defines our knowledge of the skies. 
Dare to Bird
by
A powerful photographic journey that celebrates the healing power of birds. Melissa Hafting is an ethical, passionate, and respected birder, photographer, and mentor. Her love for birding has helped shape who she is and has helped with her mental health, along with enabling her to cope with the difficult aspects of grief and loss after the death of her mother and father. Showcasing some of Melissa's most stunning bird images from the continental United States, Hawaii, and Canada, Dare to Bird explores the joy that birding and photography has brought to her life and how both have allowed her to foster meaningful connections with young birders from diverse backgrounds, along with the conservation community, eco-travel advocates, rare bird enthusiasts, and ethical wildlife viewing practitioners in order to preserve bird habitats that are constantly under threat. At the same time, she is determined to expand birding to include more BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, and People of Colour), women, and LGBTQIA+ through youth outreach and talking about the barriers (racism and sexism) she herself has faced in her journey to become part of the birding community. The magical imagery of birds is unparalleled in this inspiring collection, and Hafting helps the reader to understand why - as she believes - birds have the power to both save and heal us amid many of life's challenges.
FireSmart BC landscaping guide
by
Subject: "By making some strategic choices in your yard, you can increase the wildfire resiliency of your property. This guide includes an extensive list of fire-resistant plants, as well as tips on how to create a FireSmart?? landscape around your property." -- Publisher-provided description on the front cover.
Fur, Fleas, and Flukes
by
Shedding light on the unseen world around us, Fur, Fleas, and Flukes reveals the role parasites play in shaping the lives of wild mammals. Today, even if you live in a major city and seldom get a chance to visit national parks or wildlife reserves, you encounter wild mammals. On the inside and the outside of these animals exist an amazing diversity of living things: parasites. These parasites play crucial roles in the ecology, behavior, and evolution of their wild mammal hosts. In Fur, Fleas, and Flukes, parasitologist Michael Stock tells the stories of wild mammals - from armadillos to zebras - and the fascinating unseen organisms - such as tapeworms, flukes, and roundworms - that live in and on them. Stock examines how parasites can modify mammal behavior, shape their appearance, determine where they live, and even influence how they survive. He details how parasites can transfer to our pets and, disturbingly, lead to disease and fatalities in humans. Fur, Fleas, and Flukes also takes into account the potential impact of unprecedented environmental changes on our planet, highlighting how these shifts may alter the ecological balance between mammals and their parasites - ultimately affecting human beings and our health.
Growing Berries and Fruit Trees in the Pacific Northwest
by
This complete guide to backyard fruit growing covers recommended varieties and climate info for the Pacific Northwest both west and east of the Cascades, ideal climates for growing berries and fruit trees. Also includes sidebars showcasing historical orchards, fruit enthusiast societies, gleaning organizations, and more. Includes several recommended cultivars of each of the following types of fruit- -Berries- strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, blackberries, kiwi berries, plus less common berries such as lingonberries, elderberries, currants, gooseberries, jostaberries, and a section on wild berries. -Fruit trees- apples, pears, Asian pears, cherries, peaches, nectarines, apricots, plums, plus less common fruit trees such as figs, persimmons, and quince.
How to Break up with Your Phone
by
This evidence-based, user-friendly guide presents a 30-day digital detox plan that will help you set boundaries with your phone and live a more joyful and fulfilling life. "I wrote The Anxious Generation to help adults improve the lives of children. Many readers have asked me for a version of the book aimed at helping adults and teens help themselves. Catherine Price has written the best such book."--Jonathan Haidt Do you feel addicted to your phone? Do you frequently pick it up "just to check," only to look up forty-five minutes later wondering where the time has gone? Does social media make you anxious? Have you tried to spend less time mindlessly scrolling--and failed? If so, this book is your solution. Award-winning health and science journalist and TED speaker Catherine Price presents a practical, evidence-based 30-day digital detox plan that will help you break up--and then make up--with your phone. The goal: better mental health, improved screen-life balance, and a long-term relationship with technology that feels good. This engaging, user-friendly guide explains how our smartphones and apps are designed to be addictive and how the time we spend on them is increasing our anxiety and damaging our abilities to focus, think deeply, form new memories, generate ideas, and be present in our most important relationships. Next, it walks you through an effective and easy-to-follow 30-day plan that has already helped thousands of people worldwide break their phone addictions and feel more fully alive. Whether you need help for yourself or for your family, friends, students, colleagues, clients, or community, How to Break Up with Your Phone is the ultimate guide to digital detoxing. It's guaranteed to help you put down your phone--and come back to life.
How to Keep House While Drowning
by
An NPR Best Book of 2022 USA TODAY Bestseller This revolutionary approach to cleaning and organizing helps free you from feeling ashamed or overwhelmed by a messy home. If you're struggling to stay on top of your to-do list, you probably have a good reason: anxiety, fatigue, depression, ADHD, or lack of support. For therapist KC Davis, the birth of her second child triggered a stress-mess cycle. The more behind she felt, the less motivated she was to start. She didn't fold a single piece of laundry for seven months. One life-changing realization restored her sanity--and the functionality of her home: You don't work for your home; your home works for you. In other words, messiness is not a moral failing. A new sense of calm washed over her as she let go of the shame-based messaging that interpreted a pile of dirty laundry as "I can never keep up" and a chaotic kitchen as "I'm a bad mother." Instead, she looked at unwashed clothes and thought, "I am alive," and at stacks of dishes and thought, "I cooked my family dinner three nights in a row." Building on this foundation of self-compassion, KC devised the powerful practical approach that has exploded in popularity through her TikTok account, @domesticblisters. The secret is to simplify your to-do list and to find creative workarounds that accommodate your limited time and energy. In this book, you'll learn exactly how to customize your cleaning strategy and rebuild your relationship with your home, including: -How to see chores as kindnesses to your future self, not as a reflection of your worth -How to start by setting priorities -How to stagger tasks so you won't procrastinate -How to clean in quick bursts within your existing daily routine -How to use creative shortcuts to transform a room from messy to functional With KC's help, your home will feel like a sanctuary again. It will become a place to rest, even when things aren't finished. You will move with ease, and peace and calm will edge out guilt, self-criticism, and endless checklists. They have no place here.
Nursing School Thrive Guide
by
Like advice from a trusted friend who's "been-there, done-that" the Nursing School Thrive Guide shares proven tips and techniques to help you not just survive nursing school, but thrive! In this book you will get valuable advice that will help you get organized before school starts, master your schedule easily, and study in a way that maximizes time and sets you up for nursing school success. Learn what the different types of classes are like, how to thrive in your clinical rotations, master test-taking strategies and discover the author's own unique system for approaching patient care. With The Nursing School Thrive Guide, you'll start the semester ahead of the curve, with the tools you need to hit the ground running when classes start. Follow the system outlined in this book, and you'll be an organized, confident nursing student...guaranteed. Maureen Osuna is a critical care nurse with a passion (more like obsession) for mentoring nursing students and is owner of the website www.straightanursingstudent.com.
Origin Story
by
By early morning of June 30, 1860, a large crowd began to congregate in front of Oxford University's brand-new Museum of Natural History. The occasion was the annual meeting of the British Association for the Advancement of Science, and the subject of discussion was Charles Darwin's new treatise: fact or fiction? Darwin, a simultaneously reclusive and intellectually audacious squire from Kent, claimed to have solved "that mystery of mysteries," introducing a logical explanation of the origin of species--how they adapted, even transmogrified, through natural selection. At stake, on that summer's day of spirited debate, was the very foundation of modern biology, not to mention the future of the church. Without fear of exaggeration, Darwin's thesis would forever change our understanding of the life sciences and the natural world. And yet the author himself was nowhere to be found in the debate hall--instead, he was miles away, seeking respite from a spate of illnesses that had plagued him for much of his adult life. In Origin Story, medical historian Howard Markel recounts the two-year period (1858 to 1860) of Darwin's writing of On the Origin of Species through its spectacular success and controversy. Simultaneously, Markel delves into the mysterious health symptoms Darwin developed, combing the literature to emerge with a cogent diagnosis of a case that has long fascinated medical historians. The result is a colorful portrait of the man, his friends and enemies, and his seminal work, which resonates to this day.
Purified
by
In 2000, a transformative climate-driven "megadrought" swept over the Colorado River watershed. By the early 2020s, levels on the river's two largest reservoirs were hitting record lows and threatening the water supply for forty million people. Outside the West, water stocks are stressed even in states with bountiful rainfall such as Florida. From coast to coast, conventional measures to sustain the most fundamental natural resource on earth--drinking water--are coming up short. Recycled water could help close that gap. In Purified: How Recycled Sewage Is Transforming Our Water, veteran journalist Peter Annin shows that wastewater has become a surprising weapon in America's war against water scarcity. Annin probes deep into the water reuse movement in five water-strapped states--California, Texas, Virginia, Nevada, and Florida. He drinks beer made from purified sewage, visits communities where purified sewage came to the rescue, and examines how one of the nation's largest wastewater plants hopes to recycle one hundred percent of its wastewater by 2035. At each stop, readers come face to face with the people who are struggling for, and against, recycled water. While the current filtration technology transforms sewage into something akin to distilled water--free of chemicals and safe to drink--water recycling's challenge isn't technology. It's terminology. Concerns about communities being used as "guinea pigs," sensationalist media coverage, and taglines like "toilet to tap" have repeatedly crippled water recycling efforts. Potable water recycling has become the hottest frontier in the race for expanded water supply options. But can public opinion turn in time to avoid the worst consequences? Purified's fast-paced narrative cuts through the fearmongering and misinformation to make the case that recycled water is direly needed in the climate-change era. Water cannot be taken for granted anymore--and that includes sewage.
Strangers to Ourselves
by
New York Times bestseller One of the top ten books of the year at The New York Times Book Review, The Wall Street Journal, Vulture/New York magazine A best book of the year at Los Angeles Times, Time, NPR, The Washington Post, Bookforum, The New Yorker, Vogue, Kirkus The acclaimed, award-winning New Yorker writer Rachel Aviv offers a groundbreaking exploration of mental illness and the mind, and illuminates the startling connections between diagnosis and identity. Strangers to Ourselves poses fundamental questions about how we understand ourselves in periods of crisis and distress. Drawing on deep, original reporting as well as unpublished journals and memoirs, Rachel Aviv writes about people who have come up against the limits of psychiatric explanations for who they are. She follows an Indian woman celebrated as a saint who lives in healing temples in Kerala; an incarcerated mother vying for her children's forgiveness after recovering from psychosis; a man who devotes his life to seeking revenge upon his psychoanalysts; and an affluent young woman who, after a decade of defining herself through her diagnosis, decides to go off her meds because she doesn't know who she is without them. Animated by a profound sense of empathy, Aviv's gripping exploration is refracted through her own account of living in a hospital ward at the age of six and meeting a fellow patient with whom her life runs parallel--until it no longer does. Aviv asks how the stories we tell about mental disorders shape their course in our lives--and our identities, too. Challenging the way we understand and talk about illness, her account is a testament to the porousness and resilience of the mind.
Wild Vancouver Island
by
Subject: "Wild Vancouver Island reveals the beauty of the landscape and wild animals on Vancouver Island through the lens of nature photographer Catherine Babault. This book is a celebration of the extraordinary diversity of species that inhabit this region such as the coastal black bear, sea otter, humpback whale, marmot, elk, and several other mammals and birds. Wild Vancouver Island is a book for gifting, perhaps as a reminder of the beauty of nature." -- Provided by the publisher.