NIC's Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Resources

LGBTQ+ Source is the definitive database for LGBTQ+ studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines, newspapers and videos. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.

Search all ProQuest databases. ProQuest databases provide access to a wide range of academic journals, eBooks, streaming media from business and the sciences to literature and politics.

This multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses.

Informit’s Indigenous Collection brings together ground-breaking and emerging research with topical and historical issues paramount to Indigenous studies across the world. Offering broad scope for critical international engagement and debate surrounding Indigenous culture, health, human geography and other important aspects, this inter-disciplinary platform gives definitive voice to Indigenous communities in Australia, New Zealand and beyond.

Statistics Canada is a key socioeconomic database. Provides fast and easy access to a large range of the latest statistics available in Canada.

BC Stats is the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia. It maintains the provincial government's largest concentration of statistical products, services, and expertise.

Focuses exclusively on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging. Primarily peer-reviewed content from over 200 journals, books, book chapters and reports.

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (BIPNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of Indigenous culture, history, and life in North America. Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America contains citations for newspapers, magazines, academic journals, books, reviews, and trade publications from the United States and Canada with expanded content from Great Britain and Australia.

This database offers essential content covering important issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness. In addition to proprietary essays, photographs, graphs and charts, Exploring Race in Society includes: Thousands of full-text articles from academic journals; Government agency reports curated and provided by HeinOnline; Full-text articles, primary source documents and speeches from BlackPast, a leading source on African American history and experience; Journal content covering issues related to race, including those of Indigenous communities.

FNIGC Knowledge Lodge is a knowledge translation service from the First Nations Information Governance Centre (FNIGC), a First Nations-led organization committed to gathering and disseminating data that reflects the diversity of life in the 634 First Nations reserve and Northern communities across the country.

This application offers users no-cost access to hundreds of FNIGC’s published charts and tables from our foundational First Nations survey reports, including the First Nations Regional Health Survey (FNRHS, or RHS) and the First Nations Regional Early Childhood, Education and Employment Survey (FNREEES or REEES). All data produced are aggregated nationally and weighted to represent First Nations people living in reserve and in Northern communities across Canada.

 

A database of full-text electronic resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The iPortal content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.

The Native Health Database (NHD) was conceived in the early-1990s, when Dr. William W. Schottstaedt donated over 3,000 documents (dated from 1672-1966) as a collection of “Papers on Indian Health” to UNM's Health Sciences Library and Informatics Center (HSLIC). Under the leadership of Director Erika Love, a multi-year project (1993-1997) was undertaken by HSLIC's Janet Johnson and Henrietta Stockel to create a high-quality, single source of information resources focused on historical American Indian and Alaska Native health/medical issues. This would become the Native Health History Database. Contemporaneously, from 1997-2005, the United States Indian Health Service (IHS) contracted with HSLIC to create a unique resource for contemporary American Indian/Alaska Native bibliographic health and medical information. In particular, IHS wanted a space for descriptions of IHS research and reporting that was not typically published for public access. Separate from the Native Health History Database, this contractual arrangement with IHS saw over 5,000 abstracts (dated 1966-present) described in a new, Native Health Research Database. A new Director for HSLIC and strong advocate for the NHD, Holly Buchanan, was hired in 1998, and from 1998-2007 both databases were run separately until 2003 when they were combined into one URL and referred to as the Native Health Databases.

The NCTR Archives are intended to be a powerful agent of change in the country, allowing visitors to understand the history of Canada and the mistreatment of Indigenous Peoples. The archives currently house more than five million records in the collection, the majority of those created or collected by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada (TRC) during its mandate. The NCTR also actively collects records on various issues and subject areas important to Indigenous communities across the country.