Subject Guides: Sociology: Search Tips & Search Terms

Consider using a combination of 2 or more search terms.
Using a * will broaden your search. For example, searching for epidemic* will return results for epidemic and epidemics.
To see what the library has available in full-text, select underneath the search bar or to the left of your search results, depending on which database you are searching in.
When you surround your search terms with "quotation marks", you are telling the database that the words must appear as an exact phrase.
Consider using Boolean Search Terms AND, OR and NOT to combine search terms in order to broaden or limit search results. For example:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary; leading source of peer-reviewed, fulltext content.
BC Stats This link opens in a new window
BC Stats is the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia. It maintains the provincial government's largest concentration of statistical products, services, and expertise.
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Articles, columns, editorials and features published in a variety of Canadian newspapers.
Canadian Research Index This link opens in a new window
This database focuses on periodicals covering Canada and Canadian issues in general reference arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, sciences and current affairs.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full text access to approximately 300 titles on the social sciences.
Statistics Canada This link opens in a new window
Statistics Canada is a key socioeconomic database. Provides fast and easy access to a large range of the latest statistics available in Canada.

EBSCO

ProQuest

Statista

Search Terms

Clinical sociology

Communication

Crime -- sociological aspects

Educational sociology

Emotions -- sociological aspects

Ethnic relations

Exchange theory (sociology)

Forensic sociology

Friendship -- sociological aspects

Industrial sociology

Knowledge, sociology of

Mass society

Political sociology

Population

Power (social sciences)

Religion and Sociology

Schools of sociology

Science -- Social aspects

Social systems

Sociology

Sociology, Rural

Sociology of

Sociology of disability

War and society