Skip to Main Content
homepage
Contact Us Library Hours

NCLEX Study Guide: Exam Categories

Safe and Effective Care Environment Categories  

The nurse promotes achievement of client outcomes by providing and directing nursing care that enhances the care delivery setting in order to protect clients and health care personnel.

Management of Care – providing and directing nursing care that enhances the care delivery setting to protect clients and health care personnel. Related content includes but is not limited to:

  • Advance Directives
  • Continuity of Care
  • Advocacy
  • Establishing Priorities
  • Assignment, Delegation and Supervision
  • Ethical Practice
  • Case Management
  • Informed Consent

  • Client Rights
  • Information Technology
  • Collaboration with Interdisciplinary Team
  • Legal Rights and Responsibilities
  • Concepts of Management
  • Performance Improvement (Quality Improvement)
  • Confidentiality/Information Security
  • Referrals

Safety and Infection Control – protecting clients and health care personnel from health and environmental hazards.

Related content includes but is not limited to:

  • Accident/Error/Injury Prevention
  • Emergency Response Plan
  • Safe Use of Equipment
  • Security Plan
  •  Ergonomic Principles
  • Standard Precautions/Transmission

  • Handling Hazardous and Infectious Materials
  • Based Precautions/Surgical Asepsis
  •  Home Safety
  •  Reporting of Incident/Event/Irregular Occurrence/Variance
  • Use of Restraints/Safety Devices

 

Health Promotion and Maintenance Categories

The nurse provides and directs nursing care of the client that incorporates the knowledge of expected growth and development principles; prevention and/or early detection of health problems, and strategies to achieve optimal health.

 Related content includes but is not limited to:

  • Aging Process
  • High Risk Behaviors
  • Ante/Intra/Postpartum and Newborn Care
  • Lifestyle Choices Developmental Stages and Transitions
  • Self-Care
  • Health Promotion/Disease Prevention
  • Techniques of Physical Assessment
  •  Health Screening

 

Psychosocial Integrity Categories

 The nurse provides and directs nursing care that promotes and supports the emotional, mental and social wellbeing of the client experiencing stressful events, as well as clients with acute or chronic mental illness.

 Related content includes but is not limited to:

  • Abuse/Neglect
  •  Family Dynamics
  •  Behavioral Interventions
  • Grief and Loss
  •  Chemical and Other Dependencies/ Substance Use Disorder
  • Mental Health Concepts
  • Religious and Spiritual Influences on Health
  •  Coping Mechanisms
  • Sensory/Perceptual Alterations
  •  Crisis Intervention
  • Stress Management
  • Cultural Awareness/Cultural Influences on Health
  •  Support Systems
  • Therapeutic Communication
  • End of Life Care
  • Therapeutic Environment

Physiological Integrity Categories

The nurse promotes physical health and wellness by providing care and comfort, reducing client risk potential and managing health alterations

Basic Care and Comfort - providing comfort and assistance in the performance of activities of daily living.

Related content includes but is not limited to:

  • Assistive Devices
  •  Nutrition and Oral Hydration
  • Elimination
  • Personal Hygiene
  • Mobility/Immobility
  • Rest and Sleep
  •  Non-Pharmacological Comfort Interventions

Pharmacological and Parenteral Therapies - providing care related to the administration of medications and parenteral therapies.

Related content includes but is not limited to:

  • Adverse Effects/Contraindications/Side Effects/Interactions
  • Expected Actions/Outcomes Medication Administration
  • Blood and Blood Products
  • Parenteral/Intravenous Therapies
  • Central Venous Access Devices
  • Pharmacological Pain Management
  • Dosage Calculation
  • Total Parenteral Nutrition

Reduction of Risk Potential - reducing the likelihood that clients will develop complications or health problems related to existing conditions, treatments or procedures.

Related content includes but is not limited to:

  • Changes/Abnormalities in Vital Signs
  • Diagnostic Tests
  • Potential for Complications from Surgical Procedures and Health Alterations
  • Laboratory Values
  • System Specific Assessments
  • Potential for Alterations in Body Systems
  • Therapeutic Procedures
  • Potential for Complications of Diagnostic Tests/Treatments/Procedures

Physiological Adaptation - managing and providing care for clients with acute, chronic or life threatening physical health conditions.

Related content includes but is not limited to:

  • Alterations in Body Systems
  • Medical Emergencies
  • Fluid and Electrolyte Imbalances
  • Pathophysiology
  • Hemodynamics
  • Unexpected Response to Therapies
  • Illness Management

 

 

The above information is the original content of the National Council of State Boards of Nursing and can be located in the following document:

National Council of State Boards of Nursing. (2015). NCLEX-RN test plan: Effective April 2016. Retrieved from https://www.ncsbn.org/RN_Test_Plan_2016_Final.pdf