Skip to Main Content

NCLEX Study Guide: NCLEX Overview

NCLEX Overview

The content of the NCLEX-RN Test Plan is organized into four major Client Needs categories. Two of the four categories are divided into subcategories:

  1. Safe and Effective Care Environment

    • Management of Care

    • Safety and Infection Control

  2. Health Promotion and Maintenance

  3. Psychosocial Integrity

  4. Physiological Integrity

    • Basic Care and Comfort

    • Pharmacological and Parenteral Therapies

    • Reduction of Risk Potential

    • Physiological Adaptation


NCLEX-RN Exam Content Distribution Graph

NCLEX-RN examinations are administrated adaptively in variable length format to target candidate-specific ability. To accommodate possible variations in test length, content area distributions of the individual examinations may differ up to ±3% in each category.



The above information is the original content of the National Council of State Boards of Nursing and can be located in the following document:

National Council of State Boards of Nursing. (2015). NCLEX-RN test plan: Effective April 2016. Retrieved from