Skip to Main Content

Indigenous Literature

Popular Authors - NIC Collections

Tomson Highway 

Tomson Highway is a member of the Order of Canada as well as a recipient of numerous literary awards. He is Cree and was raised in Manitoba. His works include plays, novels, films, and children's books.

Eden Robinson 

Eden Robinson is a novelist who is a member of the Haisla and Heiltsuk First Nations in British Columbia. Her work has been shortlisted for both the Giller Prize as well as the Governor General's Award.   

Katherena Vermette 

Katherena Vermette is a Métis poet, novelist, and filmmaker who was raised in Manitoba. She has been awarded the Governor General's Award for her poetry, as well as prestigious awards for her fiction.

Richard Wagamese 

Richard Wagamese was an Ojibway journalist, poet, television writer, and novelist who was born in Ontario. He received numerous awards for his work including the Burt Award for First Nations, Métis and Inuit Literature.

Cherie Dimaline 

Cherie Dimaline is an editor, novelist, and columnist who was raised in the Georgian Bay Métis Nation. Among her many accoldes, she has won the Governor General's Award for her YA novel The Marrow Thieves.


David Robertson 

David Robertson is a graphic novelist, novelist, and public speaker from the Norway House Cree Nation in Manitoba. His work has been celebrated nationally and internationally, and he has been awarded the Governor General's Award twice in different categories.

Drew Hayden Taylor 

Drew Hayden Taylor is part Ojibway and part Caucasian. His broad works include novels, graphic novels, televised and theatrical drama, short stories, essays, and journalism.


Joshua Whitehead 

Joshua Whitehead is a poet and novelist who is a Ojibway-Cree member of the Peguis First Nation in Manitoba. He has received numerous awards, and has been shortlisted for both the Giller Prize as well as the Governor General's Award.

Lee Maracle 

Lee Maracle was an Order of Canada recipient and writer of fiction, non-fiction, and poetry. She had Salish and Cree ancestry, and she was a member of the Sto:lo Nation.

Michael Nicoll Yahgulanaas 

Michael Nicoll Yahgulanaas is an influential visual artists whose works are displayed in galleries around the world. He is responsible for the emergence of the graphic and narrative art form Haida manga.

Richard Van Camp 

Richard Van Camp is a member of the Dene nation from the Northwest Territories. He is a novelist who also writes children's literature, short stories, and graphic novels.

Sherman Alexie 

Sherman Alexie is an Indigenous novelist, poet, filmmaker, and writer of short stories. He has been awarded the American Book Award as well as the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction.