Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Articles & Databases
Search for articles using the database collection links provided below. Remember, to perform a successful search it's important to use the most effective terminology - try using the search terms listed to get started!
Suggested Search Terms
- Boats and boating
- Coastwise navigation
- Fishing boats
- Knots and splices
- Marine accidents
- Marine meteorology
- Marine radio stations
- Masts and rigging
- Nautical astronomy
- Nautical charts
- Naval art and science
- Naval architecture
- Naval art and science
- Radio in navigation
- Shipwreck survival
- Stability of ships
- Survival at sea
- Weather forecasting
Explore our recommended databases below. You can view the full list of databases that NIC has to offer by clicking here.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary; leading source of peer-reviewed, fulltext content.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text This link opens in a new window
Content covers a wide variety of applied science specialties.
British Colonist This link opens in a new window
Includes articles, advertisements and photographs dating from 1858-1910. Covers the years when Victoria was the largest city in the province, and the Colonist was the largest newspaper.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) This link opens in a new window
In depth access to a broad range of Canadian reference, business, and current events periodicals.
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Articles, columns, editorials and features published in a variety of Canadian newspapers.
Encyclopedia of British Columbia This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive reference work contains more than 4,000 articles on BC places and things and hundreds of historic and colour photographs, statistics, maps, tables, charts and diagrams.
General Science Index This link opens in a new window
Citations of articles from a wide range of scientific disciplines.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and general interest articles, government documents and reports on global warming, agriculture, education, technology, alternative fuel sources and recycling.
Points to the Past This link opens in a new window
Primary source material including maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, sermons, poems and more.
Library Contact & Hours | Privacy