Living with weather along the British Columbia Coast : the veil of chaos by 
Marine Radionavigation and Communications by
Designed for those who make their living on the sea or who navigate offshore for recreation, this comprehensive textbook introduces the mariner to each navigation and communication system and outlines its uses and limitations in practical application. An introduction to the basic theory of radio waves and how they affect system use is followed by descriptions of the various types of equipment and how they function. Especially useful for the navigator are discussions of radio direction finding systems, including radar beacons; hyperbolic radio navigation systems; satellite navigation systems, including the Global Positioning System and the Global Navigation Satellite System; hydrosonic systems; radar; and Automatic Radar Plotting. The sections on communications cover all systems in application in the marine field, including the Global Maritime Distress Safety System. Also discussed are shipboard control systems, including compasses and steering systems, and integrated bridge systems. This book also provides excellent preparation for those studying for a license examination or serving aboard ships in the military. AUTHOR:
Inland and Coastal Navigation, 2nd Edition by Marine Radionavigation and Communications by
Designed for those who make their living on the sea or who navigate offshore for recreation, this comprehensive textbook introduces the mariner to each navigation and communication system and outlines its uses and limitations in practical application. An introduction to the basic theory of radio waves and how they affect system use is followed by descriptions of the various types of equipment and how they function. Especially useful for the navigator are discussions of radio direction finding systems, including radar beacons; hyperbolic radio navigation systems; satellite navigation systems, including the Global Positioning System and the Global Navigation Satellite System; hydrosonic systems; radar; and Automatic Radar Plotting. The sections on communications cover all systems in application in the marine field, including the Global Maritime Distress Safety System. Also discussed are shipboard control systems, including compasses and steering systems, and integrated bridge systems. This book also provides excellent preparation for those studying for a license examination or serving aboard ships in the military. AUTHOR:
Stability and Trim of Fishing Vessels and Other Small Ships by 
A Guide to the Collision Avoidance Rules by
A Guide to the Collision Avoidance Rules is the essential reference to the safe operation of all vessels at sea. Published continuously since 1965, this respected and expert guide is the classic text for all who need to practically and legally understand and comply with 'The Rules'. This seventh edition includes the full text of the International Regulations for Preventing Collisions at Sea, with practical discussion of the implications of the rules included alongside all updates seen over the years, including the most recent amendments which came into force in December 2007. The books sets out the 'COLREGs' with clear explanation of their meaning, and gives detailed examples of how the rules have been used in practice by seafarers, as well as excerpts from court judgments to illustrate how they have been interpreted in practice. Written for seagoing engineers, navigating officers, senior crew, cadets and those in training, plus ship operators, marine lawyers and anyone concerned with the safe operation of shipping, this is an essential reference at sea and on shore.
Celestial Navigation by
This book has been used for 30 years, updated periodically as needed. More than 20,000 students have successfully learned ocean navigation from these materials and gone on to cross oceans or circumnavigate the globe. This book covers how to find position at sea from timed sextant sights of the sun, moon, stars, and planets plus other routine and special procedures of safe, efficient offshore navigation. No previous navigation experience is required. The only math involved is arithmetic (adding and subtracting angles and times). This is a practical, how-to-do-it book, which also includes clear explanations of how it works and how to do it well. Plus this book includes other crucial factors of ocean navigation besides just finding out where you are from the stars, such as logbook procedures, dead reckoning, error analysis, route planning, and more. At the end of this book, you will be ready for ocean navigation. The book includes: text, practice problems, tables selections, detailed glossary, and full solutions. Printable work forms, plotting sheets, and other resources are available at no charge from www.starpath.com/celnavbook. Our Fit-Slope Method presented in this textbook is cited in the latest (2017) edition of Bowditch: "The common method of averaging sights is the Fit-Slope Method, e.g. Burch, D. 2015, Celestial Navigation, Second Edition (Seattle, Starpath Publications) pp. 176-177." --Bowditch, American Practical Navigator, NGA Pub 9. Section 1805. Preface to the Second Edition: We are pleased to say that after ten more years of using this text we do not find reason to change the basic approach and methods of the teaching. We still use most of the same examples, which are now quite old, but that is the beauty of celestial navigation. It has not changed, so we do not benefit in any way from making all new examples, which would bring with them more chance of error in a book of many numbers. We have, however, notably improved and expanded the book. Each section has been updated and reformatted for a clearer presentation, often in response to student questions over the years. New graphics have been added and older ones all updated. There is much new content in the text, especially in the In-Depth chapter, including more detailed discussion of the sailings and more background on the principles. New sections were added on general ocean navigation and optimizing the fixes. We have also updated the electronic navigation section, as most ocean navigators will also be using other tools besides celestial.
