Subject Guides: Health Care Assistant and Practical Nursing (HCA and PNP): Articles & Databases

Suggested Search Terms

Try using these terms when searching for articles:

Aging
Aged home care
Aged long term
Alzheimer’s disease—care
Alzheimer’s disease—patients
Assisted living
Dementia
Geriatrics
Gerontology
Home care services
Long term care of the sick
Nursing home care
Nursing homes

Research Presentation

View the presentation below to learn how to build your research strategy and find the best resources for your topic.

Research Presentation: Discovery Search

Research Starters

Research starters are useful tools that are available through Ebsco Discovery. Open the links for an introduction to these relevant topics.

Baird, S. R. (2019). Assisted living. In Salem Press Encyclopedia of Health. http://ezproxy.nic.bc.ca:2048/login

Mandel, I. (2021). Long-term and institutional care. In Salem Press Encyclopedia of Health. http://ezproxy.nic.bc.ca:2048/login

Prerost, F. J. (2019). Aging. In Salem Press Encyclopedia of Health. http://ezproxy.nic.bc.ca:2048/login

Databases

Search these databases for articles, diagrams, and other helpful resources.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary; leading source of peer-reviewed, fulltext content.
Ageline This link opens in a new window
Focuses exclusively on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging. Primarily peer-reviewed content from over 200 journals, books, book chapters and reports.
Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
Unlimited simultaneous access to the 2020 version of Anatomy.TV and Human Anatomy & Physiology Resources, including 3D Real-time and Perceptual Adaptive Learning Modules (PALMs). Updated interface allows accessible seamless access via HTML5 in all modern browsers (eg. Chrome).
Try the new 3D Anatomy Quiz! Available as an app.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is the new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
A clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care.
Films on Demand - Health & Medicine Collection This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand – Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Instant 24/7 access to thousands of high-quality digital programs and video clips. The Master Collection includes Humanities and Social Sciences Collection, Science Collection, Business and Economics Collection, and Health Collection.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Articles on psychology as well as basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
2 million references to psychological literature from journal articles, books, book chapters, technical reports, and dissertations.
Scientific & Medical ART Imagebase This link opens in a new window
A collection of 20,000+ high quality illustrations and animations depicting anatomy, physiology, surgery, diseases, conditions, trauma, embryology, histology, and other health science topics.