Skip to Main Content

Global Health: Millennium Development Goals

Millennium Development Goals

The United Nations Millennium Development Goals are 8 goals that all 189 UN Member States have agreed to try to achieve by the year 2015. The United Nations Millennium Declaration, signed in September 2000 commits world leaders to combat poverty, hunger, disease, illiteracy, environmental degradation, and discrimination against women. The MDGs are derived from this Declaration, and all have specific targets and indicators. The Millennium Development Goals are now transitioning into 17 Sustainable Development Goals, to be completed by 2030.

The 8 Goals

The Eight Millennium Development Goals are:

  • to eradicate extreme poverty and hunger;
  • to achieve universal primary education;
  • to promote gender equality and empower women;
  • to reduce child mortality;
  • to improve maternal health;
  • to combat HIV/AIDS, malaria, and other diseases;
  • to ensure environmental sustainability; and,
  • to develop a global partnership for development