How to search Canadian government websites using Google:
If looking for information on your topic from Canadian government websites, do a Google search for your topic keywords and include “site:.gc.ca” in your search. For example:
If you do this, only Canadian government websites that include your keywords will appear in the results.
BC Stats: https://www2.gov.bc.ca/gov/content/data/statistics
Statistics Canada: https://www.statcan.gc.ca/eng/start
2. Click on the table number to view the table. Here is an example table:
3. You can change the data displayed on the table by using the “Add/Remove data” tab. For example, you may want to display data for a specific province or type of item. I’m going to display data for total cattle in British Columbia by selecting only these check boxes and clicking “Apply”:
4. Now, only stats for income on cattle in British Columbia show on the table.
BC Stats offers a wide variety of data and analysis related to Business and Industry. The Business Gateway is a resource to find data and information to do market research or to start or expand a business. There are more general data available for business counts and employment by industry and other economic data that may be of interest can be found in the Economy pages. Information related to small business in particular is also available, as well as details for specific industries.
Statistics Canada is Canada’s National Statistics Agency producing statistics on Canada’s population, resources, economy, society and culture. In addition to conducting a Census every five years, there are about 350 active surveys on virtually all aspects of Canadian life and daily updates about new statistical products.
Innovation, Science, and Economic Development Canada
Includes statistics and data in support of developing industry and technology capability, fostering scientific research, setting telecommunications policy, promoting investment and trade, promoting tourism and small business development, and setting rules and services that support the effective operation of the marketplace.
Provides analytics through public opinion polls. Also a source of news items and graphics.
Provides indicators on export performance, international demand, alternative markets and the role of competitors. A limited version of Trade Map is accessible without registration for product trade flows up to the 4-digit level of the Harmonized System (HS) and for trade in services.
Statista provides statistics and data within 600 industries and 50+ countries.
United Nations (Statistics Division)
The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point. The numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.
World Trade Organization (International Trade & Tariff data)
Interactive access to the most up-to-date WTO trade statistics. Includes links to trade profiles, tariff profiles and services profiles.
The World Bank provides free and open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe, together with other datasets cited in the data catalog.