It is our heartfelt intention that all are welcome in the Library & Learning Commons at NIC.
We respectfully acknowledge that our workspaces are on the traditional and unceded territories of the Nuu-Chah-nulth, Kwakwaka’wakw and Coast Salish peoples. Our library work is grounded in the spirit of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada's Calls to Action. We welcome the opportunity to work alongside Indigenous students on their educational journey. We wholeheartedly invite you into the Library & Learning Commons at NIC and look forward to meeting you.
ƛ̓uum̓aaʔateʔicuu
Nuu-chah-nulth
G̱ilakas’la
Kwak'wala
Ǧəlakasla
Liq’wala
čɛčɛhaθɛč
Island Comox
Visit the library to access the many resources available to you both in print and online. Our collections include books, journal articles, videos and learning resource kits. Many of these resources are available electronically, so you can easily view them off-campus. You can also request items from our other campuses and even from libraries at other BC colleges and universities through our interlibrary loan program. We also lend technology and equipment, including laptops, phone chargers, calculators, and headphones.
If you are unable to come to an NIC campus to pick up your items, we can mail them to you at no charge. Contact us to find out how to access this service.
Accessing Our Resources
Here is more information about accessing our collection off-campus including how to download one of our ebooks.
Having trouble accessing our collection? Contact library staff.
Is there a book, a video, or a magazine you’d like to see added to our collection? Let us know by Suggesting A Purchase.
Library staff are here for all your research and citation needs. We can help you perform library searches, evaluate, and cite your sources. Book a 30-minute appointment face-to-face or online, or visit your campus library for drop-in research help.
Library Resources
Visit our citation guides to help you format your paper according to your chosen style.
Our subject guides, including the Indigenous & First Nations Studies and the Indigenous Literature guide, are curated by library staff and are a great starting point for your research.
The databases can also be filtered to specific subjects to view the most relevant resource for your chosen topic.
The Learning Commons offers academic supports to help you succeed in your NIC courses.
Writing Support provides students with feedback on their writing. Meet one-on-one with qualified faculty (in-person or online) to get help with planning and/or structuring your writing.
Math Support provides assistance in math for business, technology, trades, and health and environmental science. Math Support faculty can assist you with measurements, designs, budgets, and project plans, and provide you with a collection of math-related resources to help you.
Peer tutoring is offered by your fellow NIC students in a variety of subjects. They can help clarify course material and offer guidance on strategies for assignments and exams.
The Library and Learning Commons offers a variety of welcoming spaces designed to meet students' diverse study needs. For individual study, students can use the private study carrels and tables. The group study rooms provide the perfect place for collaborative work. For those seeking absolute quiet, the silent study room offers a distraction-free environment. There is also a computer lab equipped with the software and technology needed for student success. With bright, window-lit areas and friendly, supportive staff, the library is your place to both work and relax.
• Invitation to contact us about hosting events in the LLC (including community partnerships)