Skip to Main Content
homepage
Contact Us Library Hours

APA Style Guide: 7th Edition

Cochrane Article with DOI

TEMPLATE:

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year of publication). Title of chapter in sentence case: Capitalize the first word of the subtitle. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, volume number in italics(issue number in brackets). Article number. https://www.doi.org/xxx

 

EXAMPLE:

Mehrholz, J., Pohl, M., Platz, T., Kugler, J., Elsner, B. (2018). Electromechanical and robot-assisted arm training for improving activities of daily living, arm function, and arm muscle strength after stroke. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, (9). Article CD006876. https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD00687.pub5

Notes:

  • Author, A. A. = Author's surname followed by first and middle initials, when available.
  • Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews is in italics in the reference but do not italicize it elsewhere in your paper.
  • Different versions of Cochrane Reviews include different information, which means the reference may vary. Follow the principle of citing what you see.
    • It is fine to omit the volume, issue, or article number from the reference if the information is missing from your version of the article. If the information is present, you should include it as you would for any journal article.
    • If the journal article has an article number instead of a page range, include the word "Article" and then the article number instead of page range.

Examples of formatting an in-text citation for this item are outlined below:

Reference Information

Mehrholz, J., Pohl, M., Platz, T., Kugler, J., & Elsner, B. (2018). Electromechanical and robot-assisted arm training for improving activities of daily living, arm function, and arm muscle strength after stroke. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD006876.pub5

In-text Citation Guidelines

Examples                                                                                                           

1.

Parenthetical citation example

Note: If you are paraphrasing from a lengthy document, also include page, paragraph or heading info. 

 

Consider this a paraphrased sentence (Mehrholz et al., 2018).   

2.

Narrative citation example

 

According to Mehrholz et al. (2018), "consider this a direct quote" (p. 70).

Remember, in-text citation formatting may change depending on a number of factors.

See Number of Authors, Publication Date, and Page/Paragraph Number or Heading for more information.  

Cochrane Article without DOI

TEMPLATE:

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year of publication). Title of chapter in sentence case: Capitalize the first word of the subtitle. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. https://login.ezproxy.nic.bc.ca:2443/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&NEWS=n&CSC=Y&PAGE=main&D=coch

 

EXAMPLE:

Sampson, A. L., Singer, R. F., Walters, G. D. (2017). Uric acid lowering therapies for preventing or delaying the progression of chronic kidney disease. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. https://login.ezproxy.nic.bc.ca:2443/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&NEWS=n&CSC=Y&PAGE=main&D=coch

Notes:

  • Author, A. A. = Author's surname followed by first and middle initials, when available.
  • Do not italicize the database name if it appears in text.
  • When the DOI is not available, provide the URL of the Cochrane database homepage:

https://login.ezproxy.nic.bc.ca:2443/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&NEWS=n&CSC=Y&PAGE=main&D=coch

Examples of formatting an in-text citation for this item are outlined below:

Reference Information

Sampson, A. L., Singer, R. F., Walters, G. D. (2017). Uric acid lowering therapies for preventing or delaying the progression of chronic kidney disease. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. http://ezproxy.nic.bc.ca:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&NEWS=n&CSC=Y&PAGE=main&D=coch
In-text Citation Guidelines

Examples                                                                                                           

1.

Parenthetical citation example

 

Consider this a paraphrased sentence (Sampson et al., 2017).   

2.

Narrative citation example

 

According to Sampson et al. (2017), "consider this a direct quote" (para. 2).

Remember, in-text citation formatting may change depending on a number of factors.

See Number of Authors, Publication Date, and Page/Paragraph Number or Heading for more information.  

When a DOI is not available for an article found in the Cochrane Database of Systematic Review, provide the URL of the database homepage/login page instead. Follow the steps below to find the login page URL: