Skip to Main Content
homepage
Contact Us Library Hours

APA Style Guide: 7th Edition

Entry in Online Dictionary, No Author

TEMPLATE:

Name of Publisher. (Year). Title of dictionary entry in sentence case. In Title of dictionary in sentence case and italics: Capitalize first word of subtitle. Retrieved Monday day, year from https://www.directlinktowebpage.com/

 

EXAMPLE:

Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Egregious. In Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved December 10, 2019 from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/egregious

Notes:

  • When an online reference work is continuously updated and not archived, use "n.d." as the year of publication and include a retrieval date.
  • Provide a direct link to the dictionary entry.

Examples of formatting an in-text citation for this item are outlined below:

Reference Information

Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Egregious. In Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved December 10, 2019, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/egregious

In-text Citation Guidelines

Examples                                                                                                           

1.

Editor(s) last name(s) and year of publication placed in brackets at the end of a paraphrased sentence. Connect final two names with '&'.

Note: If you are paraphrasing from a lengthy document, also include page, paragraph or heading info. 

 

Consider this a paraphrased sentence (Merriam-Webster, n.d.).                        

2.

Sentence beginning with editor(s) last name(s) followed immediately by date in brackets; page # in brackets at the end of the quote. Connect final two names with 'and'.

 

According to Merriam-Webster (n.d.), "consider this a direct quote" (p. 7).

Remember, in-text citation formatting changes depending on a number of factors.

See Number of Authors, Publication Date, and Page/Paragraph Number or Heading for more information.